I have been feeling a little overwhelmed with life since we rang in the New Year. Lando's been pretty busy at work since around Thanksgiving, and we're now on cold three since about the same time (I think it's number 8 since Mason started school in August). I guess my coping skills just aren't the best because I've just been feeling a little stressed and out of sorts. And I have a super annoying habit of hiding when I'm feeling stressed and out of sorts, which is why I've never gone back and fixed my New Year's post, even though it needs to be finished. It's also why I am currently blogging instead of attacking the mess that is my house since I've been sick this week. I'm sure Landon is pleased.
A lot of my stress has been focused on Landon. When he is working a lot, I start feeling like I'm the only one being a parent to our kids. And when I start feeling like I'm the only one being a parent, the task of parenting feels very overwhelming to me. And then I start yelling more than normal. And I feel supremely frazzled at the end of the day. And then I am a wreck by the time Landon gets home. And I want to tell him that I didn't mean to marry my dad.
So, it's time for a little perspective.
Landon became a lawyer for two reasons, as far as I can tell. Reason #1 -- he thought it would be something at which he could likely excel. It is a good match for his strengths and his intelligence. Good call, Lando. Reason #2 -- he knew he could make a good enough living at it to be able to support his family on a single income. He has done an exceptional job of providing for us, all by himself, with no help financially from me. Good call #2, Lando. Now, it's important for me to remember that Landon did not become a lawyer because it is something about which he feels passionately. It's not something he does because he just loves to do it (although he certainly enjoys it a lot more now at his current job than at the old one). He doesn't work long hours because he's a workaholic or because he's married to his job. Landon does what he does every day for me and for our two children. He does it so we can live a reasonably comfortable life where one of us parents is actually doing the bulk of raising our kids instead of putting them into day care. He does it because he wants to do everything he possibly can to take care of us. He does it because he loves us.
This week, Landon had a ton of deadlines. We knew that he was going to be working a ton. But, for some reason, he's not the one that went into the week grumbling about it. I was.
On Thursday, I had a really bad headache (turns out, I was just getting a cold). I was miserable most of the day. I finally called Landon and asked him to come home early. He came home and took care of the kids and of me. Friday, the cops were at our door right as we woke up from naps, certain that there was a fugitive in our home. Landon got a call that evening from a very shook up wife. Again, he came home early and took care of us. And what did Landon get for two nights of coming home to take care of his wife and kids in a row? He got to work on Saturday. He got to work after letting his sick wife sleep in for a few hours in the morning. And how was he rewarded this morning? With his crazy ass wife telling him she needed to sleep in again because the baby had been up all night (she's sick now too).
Landon is right. He is under-appreciated and under-supported. He takes care of everyone else all day and is rarely ever taken care of himself. This is not okay. This is, in fact, bordering on criminal.
The thing I need to do this year, right this very moment, is to show my husband the appreciation and support he deserves. I need to remember to be grateful for him every day, and he needs to know how grateful I am for him and all that he does.
Landon, I appreciate you. I am so grateful for everything you do for our family and for me personally. You are more than I could have hoped for in a husband. You are my best friend and my greatest teacher. I am so, so lucky and so, so grateful that I get to be your wife.

And, I love you. I.E.U.