When I got to Mason's school today to pick him up, a group of moms were coming out with their kids. They noticed that one of them had just been robbed. Her car window was smashed and her purse was missing.
So here's the deal. There are apartments adjacent to the school. They're pretty nice apartments... nothing shady as far as I can tell. Apparently, once a year or so, something very similar to this happens. Someone is watching from the apartments, waiting until they see a mom go into the school without a purse on her shoulder. That's probably what happened today.
I never take my purse in with me. Never. Heck, I often don't even bring my purse with me to the school, but when I do, I don't think I have ever brought it in with me to get Mason. Ever. Not a single time. It so could have been me, but it wasn't. I dodged the bullet, perhaps because I was running just a little bit late today.
And I must say "Whew!" I'm real grateful that I am not the one feeling victimized and fretting over my identity being stolen and having to shell out $500 in deductibles to get my car fixed. I can say this, though. That guy wouldn't have gotten a dime out of me had it been my purse. I have exactly zero dollars in there, not even any change. And Landon is so on top of our credit cards that they would have been canceled before the guy could have made any purchases, even if he immediately ran to the store.
But still, I'm so grateful I don't have to worry about that tonight. And also that I got a clear reminder that it's probably never a good idea to leave your purse in your car when you are out of sight, even for a few minutes.
New chapter. New post. New playlist.
3 years ago
