We went to a party this weekend, the husband and I. It was a party full of lawyers. Lots and lots of lawyers. The problem with lawyers is, for the most part anyway, they work so much that they don't really have much else in their lives. Therefore, most conversation with lawyers is about being a lawyer. I have found that I can hang in the lawyer talking since I am 1) married to a lawyer and 2) a reasonably good bullshitter. It's not my most favorite thing to do, be in a conversation with a lawyer about being a lawyer, but it happens pretty often and it is what it is. Sometimes it is better than talking to my 3 year old about the poop she just made, sometimes it isn't.
Anyhow, at this party, I found myself primarily engaged in conversations about being a lawyer, but as the night wore on I found myself almost entirely engaged in conversations about how great I am to my lawyer husband. Now, basically none of these people know me at all. They just know that I am married to a lawyer who works a lot, and they discovered that instead of bitching about how much my husband works, I was focusing on how much harder it is for him to be working like that all the time. Clearly, this struck a chord with these lawyers, and they nearly all became of the opinion that I am a fantastic wife and wonderful human being.
One conversation (that repeated itself several times, thanks to the increasing level of "drunk" being experienced by my fellow conversant) went like this:
Drunk Lawyer (what other kind of lawyer is there?): "You are so great!"
Me: "Uh, thanks."
DL: "Landon is so lucky to have you!"
Me: "I am pretty lucky to have him too."
DL: "I really love your hat!" (it was a costume party, my hat was awesome, and she was really drunk and easily distracted).
Me: "Yeah, it is pretty great. Thanks."
DL: "Landon is so lucky to have such a supportive wife! How are you so supportive?!" (did you notice how everything she said comes with exclamation points?)
Me: "Uh, well, he supports me too. It works both ways."
DL: "Wow! That is just so amazing! I really love your hat!"
So anyway, I was thinking about it this morning, and drunk lawyer was right. Landon is lucky to have a supportive wife. But I was right, too. It is easy (usually) for me to be supportive because Landon is so supportive of me. And most relationships don't seem to have that give and take. They are either one-sided, with one who always gives and one who always takes, or have two selfish people who live parallel lives. But not me. We both try to take care of each other and be supportive of the other and appreciate what the other is going through.
So thanks Drunk Lawyer for reminding me. Landon is lucky. And so am I.